Nigeria federal ministry of aviation

Nigeria federal ministry of aviation

In this post I will like to explain what are the Federal Ministry of Aviation in Nigeria (FMA)

In this is You will know the role , Duties and responsibilities of federal ministry of aviation FMA

NIGERIA Federal ministry of aviation

The ministry is responsible for formulation and management of the government’s aviation policies in Nigeria

Federal ministry of aviation is acronym of FMA

Federal ministry of aviation is directly responsible for overseeing air transportation, airport development and maintenance, provision of aviation infrastructural services and other needs Ministry is headed by a Minister appointed by the President of a State and assisted by a Permanent Secretary, who is a career civil servant.

Ministry is also responsible for parastatals such as the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology

History of Departments under the federal ministry of aviation

Previously the ministry’s Civil Aviation Department investigated aircraft accidents. In 1989 the Federal Civil Aviation Authority (FCAA) opened, and the Civil Aviation Department became the FCAA Department of Safety Services. During that same year the Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB), subordinate to the Ministry of Aviation, was established and the FCAA no longer had accident investigation responsibilities. The name of the bureau was later changed to the Accident Investigation and Prevention Bureau. As part of the Civil Aviation Act of 2006 the AIB became an autonomous agency, the Accident Investigation Bureau

Duties of FMA

The Federal Ministry of Aviation is one of the Federal Ministries of Nigeria that regulates aviation services and air travels in Nigeria the Federal Ministry of Aviation is formulate, update and implement the National Aviation Master Plan for the overall development of the aviation industry in the Nigeria

FMA is also to collect, store, analyze, and disseminate meteorological data to end users install, maintain and upgrade equipment and infrastructure on timely basis and at all airports. To set and implement safety and security measures in the sector in line with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards, the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) requirements and recommended best practices for the enhancement of safety oversights. FMA Ministry’s also extends to airports development and management, the provision of aviation security, and the improvement of airspace management.


Responsibilities of federal ministry of aviation

The federal ministry of aviation FMA responsible for the safe of the people, secured and efficient Aviation Industry focused on making Nigeria a hub that meets international standards and best practices for the African continent

Role duty and power of Nigeria ministers

Past chairman of aviation ministries

List of Past and present minister of aviation FMA From 1960 to date

Dr. K.O Mbadiwe 1960-1961

Hon. Raymond Njoku 1962-1965

Chief J. A Nwachukwu 1965-1966

Chief J. S Tarka 1967-1971

Dr. R.A.B Dikko 1971-1975

Maj. Gen. Shehu Musa Yar’ Adua (NA) 1975-1976

Navy Capt. Olumide (NAF) 1976-1976

Alhaji S. Kazaure 1976-1978

Alhaji Shehu Wunti 1978-1979

Hon. Sam Mafuyayi 1979-1982

Hon. J.J Kadiya 1982-1983

Ahaji Ibrahim Abdullahi 1984-1984

Rear Admiral Patrick Koshoni (NN) 1984-1985

Maj. Gen. Jeremiah Oseni (NA) 1985-1987

AVM Anthony Okpere (NAF) 1987-1989

Alhaji Bunu Sheriff Musa 1989-1990

Alabo Tonye Graham Douglas 1990-1992

Engr. Olawale Ige 1992-1992

Chief Oluwole Adeosun 1993-1993

Alhaji Bashiru Dalhatu 1993-1993

Alhaji Aremu Yahaya 1993-1994

Chief Ebenezer Babatope 1994-1995

Air Cmdr. Nsikak Eduok (NAF) 1995-1996

Air Cmdr. Ita Udo-Imeh (NAF) 1996-1998

Capt. Benomi Briggs 1998-1999

Dr. Olusegun Agugu 1999-2000

Dr. (Mrs) Kema Nonyerem Chikwe 2000-2003

Malam Isa Yuguda 2003-2005

Prof. Babalola Borishade 2005-2006

Chief Olufemi Fani-Kayode 2006-2006

Felix Hassan Hyat 2007-2008

Babatunde Omotoba 2008-2010

Mrs. Fidelia Akuabata Njeze 2010-2011

Princess Stella Adaeze Oduah-Ogiemwonyi (OON) 2011-2014

Dr. Samuel Ioraer Ortom 2014-2014

Osita Benjamin Chidoka 2014-2015

Senator Hadi Sirika July 2015 June 2019 and also Appointed Substantive Minister of Aviation from August 2019 to date

Past permanent secretary of aviation

List of permanent secretary of aviation from 1988 to date

Alfa Wali 1988-1990

Gidado Idris 1990-1994

Makama. D (Unfound) 1994-1996

Kaigama F. (Unfound) 1996-1998

Nwokedi S. Un 1998-1999

Ajulo S. B. 1999-2000

R. U. Audu 2000-2002

P. O. Okunromade 2002-2003

T. D. Oyelade 2003-2005

S. D. Kassim (MNI) 2005-2007

Mrs. A. Lawan 2007-2009

Idris S.A. Kuta 2009-2010

Kifasi. D.I. 2010-2010

A.N. Ene-IT (Mrs) 2010-2012

George A. Ossi 2013-2014

Dr, Jamila Shu’ara (FNIM) 2014-2014

S.K. Yemi Adelakun 2014-2014

Mohammed Abbas 2014-2015

Binta Adamu Bello (Mrs) 2015-2015

Zakari Sabiu (Perm Sec. for the two merged Ministries Transportation & Aviation) 2015-2019

Engr. Hassan Musa 2019-2021

Abel Olumuyiwa Enitan 2021-2022

Dr. Emmanuel C. Meribole 2022 to Date

Agencies under the federal ministry of aviation

Federal airport authority of Nigeria (FAAN)

Nigeria airspace management agency (NAMA)

Nigeria college of aviation technology (NCAT)

NIGERIA methodological agency (NIMET)

Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB)

Departmental and unit under the aviation

Air Transport management

Air safety administration

Aerodromes Development

Planning Research and Statistics

General service

Human resources

Finance and account


Internal audit

Legal unit

Special duty

Reformed coordinator and service improvement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *