Function and past of Nigeria ministry of interior

Function and past of Nigeria ministry of interior

In this post I will like to explain what are the functions of nigeria ministry of interior and past of Nigeria ministry of interior

Who are the ministry of interior at the end of this post you will understand what And who are the ministry of interior in Nigeria

Nigeria Ministry of interior

Federal Ministry of the Interior is a part of the Federal Ministries of Nigeria tasked with providing complementary internal security and other ancillary services within the country

Role duty and power of Nigeria ministers

History of Nigeria ministry of interior

Concern to maintain internal security gave rise to the creation of Federal Ministry of Internal Affairs in 1957 and In 2007 Ministry of Internal Affairs merged with the Ministry of Police Affairs, resulting in the Ministry of the Interior

Functions of ministry of interior

Nigeria Ministry of interior formulates and implements policies related to border management and supervises the National Immigration Services

Other functions of ministry of interior include the following

To Granting of Nigerian citizenship

To Consular and immigration services

To Granting of business permits and expatriate quotas

To Co-ordination of national and independence day celebrations

To Reformation and re-integration of inmates

To Security of lives and properties

To Management of National emergencies

To Recruitment of officers and men of the Correctional Service, Immigration Service, Fire Service and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps

To Managing the retirement benefits of retirees of paramilitary Services under its supervision

Past of Nigeria Ministry of interior chairmen

These are the past of Nigeria ministry of interior. They are

1 Bello Maitama Yusuf 1979–1983 4 years in office

2 Bagudu Mamman 1990–1991 1 Year in office

Sunday Afolabi 1999–2000 1 Year in office

Mohammed Shata 2000–2003 3 years in office

Iyorchia Ayu 2003–2005 2 years in office

Magaji Muhammed 2005–2006 1 year in office

Oluyemi Adeniji 2006–2007 1 Year in office

Godwin Abbe 2007–2009 2 years in office

Shettima Mustapha 2009–2010 1 Year in office

Emmanuel Iheanacho 2010–2011 1 Year in office

Patrick Abba Moro 2011–2015 4 years in office

Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau 2015–2019 4 years in office

Rauf Adesoji Aregbesola 2019 to date

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *